2022 VASCAN Founders Award

Call for Nominations:

The Virginia Alliance for Security Computing and Networking (VASCAN) is soliciting nominations for the 2022 VASCAN Founders Award (Formerly, the Shirley Payne IT Security Advancement Award). Details are outlined below and anyone associated with VASCAN or the broader Commonwealth of Virginia (COV) information security community can submit a nomination.

About the Award:

In 2015, VASCAN established this award in honor of Shirley Payne, one of the founding members of VASCAN, a former information security officer at the University of Virginia and an extraordinarily generous collaborator regarding information security in Virginia and beyond. The following years each of the founders of VASCAN were recognized for their contributions to establishing the VASCAN. The VASCAN Founders Award recognizes special efforts toward strengthening IT security within the Commonwealth of Virginia. It is given annually to an information security professional, manager or auditor who has:

  • contributed to the Virginia information security community in a notableway; or,
  • joined the community and exhibited an admirable commitment todeveloping, in themselves and others, the skills necessary to execute andadvance an information security program.

As relates to a COV information security program or the COV IT security community, successful nominees will exhibit one or more of the following:

  • Outstanding information security accomplishment(s)
  • Extraordinary service related to information security
  • Inspiring leadership in one or more areas of IT security
  • Extraordinary enthusiasm, energy and/or teamwork in advancement of information security
  • Exemplary effort to nurture a climate of understanding and acceptance ofIT Security principles
  • Creativity or innovation in advancing IT security processes and solutions
  • Effectiveness in applying or garnering support of IT Security Principles
  • joined the community and exhibited an admirable commitment to developing, in themselves and others, the skills necessary to execute and advance an information security program.

The award will be presented at the annual VASCAN conference in October

Past Award Winners:


Darlene Quackenbush, James Madison University


Cathy Hubbs, American University

Randy Marchany, Virginia Tech

Wayne Donald, Virginia Tech

Shirley Payne, University of Virginia


Dan Han, Virginia Commonwealth University


David Raymond, Virginia Cyber Range, Virginia Tech


Mark DeDomenic, Old Dominion University


Dr. Hongyi Wu, Old Dominion University


Daniel Perisco, Virginia Department of Elections

To Submit a Nomination:

Send a completed nomination form by September 20, 2022 to: Doug Streit, Committee Chair 2022 VASCAN Founders Award Committee Chair. (jstreit@odu.edu)

Nomination Form:

Click Here to download the nomination form